Reading Reviews for The Grand Tour
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kayt Food for Thought

14th January 2018:
That's a bit of a shame - I always rather liked Ron (yes, a bit lazy, a bit thoughtless) and would have hoped he'd turn out better than he has here. Still, each to their own! The conversation between Hermione and Audrey was certainly interesting, and they look to be becoming great friends, with each learning from the other. All in all an enjoyable foray into the wider Weasley family.

Author's Response: Hi Kayt,

I'm sorry you don't like my portrayal of Ron. I don't want to give any spoilers, but this is meant to be a feel-good story, so do bear with me!

One of my favourite sayings is from Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson: Madness is neither one state nor the other but the space between them. Ron and Hermione's relationship is an interesting one,I think. She is a twenty-first century woman from a professional muggle background and I don't think he has fully adjusted to the post-war world. Something needs to shift within him. It also has to be said that there are two sides to any relationship. Hermione needs to learn to value what she's got!


 Report Review

Review #2, by kayt Muggle Makeover

13th December 2017:
Dulcie is a wonderful character, and very real. Nice to see Percy's good qualities really appreciated too. Molly has lots to consider, but I'm sure she'll sort it all out in the end, and she seems surprisingly open to new ideas.

Author's Response: Dulcie seemed to take on a life of her own as I wrote her. We often see the muggle/magical relationship from the magical perspective, but I wanted to show it from the other side.

I also didn't want it to simply be Arthur thriving and Molly struggling, although I think they will both be considerably out of their comfort zone once their dealing unmediated with the muggle world.


 Report Review

Review #3, by kayt Journey of Discovery

13th December 2017:
Steep learning curve for Molly and Arthur - so much information to take in. Nice bit of tension between muggle/magic too. I'm sure Percy has devised an all inclusive itinerary, but there arevso many places they should see. Brighton, Oxford, Shrewsbury, York, Durham.. And Scotland.They need to visit Loch Ness and the beautiful glens. Hmm, how long are they away for??

Author's Response: Thanks for all your suggestions. Some were already on my list and some weren't. With some trepidation I have passed them onto Percy, but I fear he has been getting carried away. The Scottish Highlands and Islands were already on the itinerary but I must admit I hadn't thought of Loch Ness. Hmm, might be challenging on public transport.

 Report Review

Review #4, by kayt Banking on a Bus

21st October 2017:
They did it - and on their own terms too! Great to see Molly becoming more comfortable in dealing with the Muggles. I'm sure it won't all be that easy, but I think Molly and Arthur will do very well on their trip without help from the children.

Author's Response: I think there is still something that needs to shift in Molly's head, and probably in Arthur's, too. After all, the ordinary world is imperfect, its just its imperfections are different to the magical ones! I think in particular they both might struggle to cope with the interaction of time and space. You'll have to wait and see!

 Report Review

Review #5, by kayt Sofa, so good!

14th October 2017:
Going on holiday without a computer gives me TWO chapters to read, and this was a really good one. It was so nice to see all the family gather to admire the "shed" and you do such a good job of showing their different characters. The Muggle/Magic conversations between the older couples were quite funny too. Glad to see Molly and Arthur continuing to organise things for themselves.

Author's Response: Thank you. It was quite a hard one to write, but I think it came out well in the end. I am enjoying writing the interactions between the magicals and muggles. I hadn't intended the Woodburys to be such big characters originally but they've kind of grown. I'm rather fond of Dean, too. I know he's a bit of a stereotypical cheeky Cockney chappie, but he's found his own inimitable way of blending magical and muggle.

The next chapter is in the queue so shouldn't be long. I think it is my favourite so far and shows Molly and Arthur stepping out on their own a bit. I hope you'll enjoy it.


 Report Review

Review #6, by kayt Burrow Meadows

14th October 2017:
You had me worried there, thinking that surely Harry wouldn't be grumbling about the cost. But, no! Arthur and Molly had happily gone their own way. A good point that Arthur, being a Weasley, would not be as meek and mild as he's often made out to be.

Author's Response: For all Harry is an inveterate rule-breaker, I don't think he likes it when others don't do as he says!

I think Arthur likes an easy life rather than being meek and mild. He has a finely honed sense of subterfuge. There is a difference! Also, this is Molly and Arthur after the war: they are no longer weighed down by the burden of fearing for their lives, raising seven children on a low income and battling prejudice in the ministry.


 Report Review

Review #7, by Ohpl Sofa, so good!

14th October 2017:
Love this story. Looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Glad you are enjoying it. The next chapter is now in the queue so should be up in the next couple of days.

 Report Review

Review #8, by kayt Guerilla Tactics

20th September 2017:
Great to see a new chapter. I absolutely love the originality of your story, and Molly and Arthur's relationship is so real. Its lovely to see them gradually becoming more comfortable in venturing out into the Muggle world. I wonder who will win the war of paying for the luxury shed!

Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you're enjoying this so much.

As to who wins shed wars...well, I won't ruin the fun by giving a spoiler!


 Report Review

Review #9, by kayt Building Sheds, Building Bridges

10th August 2017:
Oh yes - anyone who lives in an English village knows a Philip. Arthur actually did ok in conversing with a Muggle so maybe he and Molly will be fine on their tour. I like the different POVs you are bringing to each chapter.

Author's Response: Yes, every English village has (at least) one Philip!

The idea was mainly to write from Molly and Hermione's POV, but the nature of the story seems to demand multiple ones.

I'm hoping to get the next chapter in the queue later today and we'll be seeing more of Philip!


 Report Review

Review #10, by kayt There's a Hole In My Bucket

1st August 2017:
You are very good at this. I almost felt as if I was sitting at the table with Hermione and Audrey.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #11, by kayt Molly on a Mission

24th July 2017:
This is exactly the sort of story I love to read, and there never seem to be enough well written ones around. Its so nice to see a little bit of everyone making up the family tapestry, and you've written the characters so that they feel real. I can't wait to find out how Molly and Arthur do on their travels. I really wish that I could write something that reads as easily as this.

Author's Response: Thank you. I come from a big family, so I think I've drawn on our dynamics a bit.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ohpl Molly on a Mission

24th July 2017:
This is a wonderful story. I love how thoughtful you are about everyone. They are not just a mass of people but individuals who have grown into themselves.
I especially enjoy that it is Molly's desire to read Catherine Cookson ( and others ) that pushes her out of her comfort zone.
I have just read all 4 chapters and am looking forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm gad you're enjoying it. I am pleased that you like the characterisations. When I started writing this, it was just going to be a romp, but I soon realised that it was the characters and relationships that are important. And Molly is Arthur's wife - there is bound to be some commonality of interests and outlook, even if she despairs of him sometimes!

Next chapter should follow soon, but the rest still needs writing.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login