Reading Reviews for A Place Not Far From Here
  
79 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Giu9_RedandGold In This Moment

3rd April 2018:
Wow!!! Finally, the moment I've been waiting for so long. I can't wait to read what comes next. I have no idea of what to expect from a possibile future confrontation between Amelia and James, but I really hope they do have a chance to talk, though it seems difficult. Because I need answers, too.

The post wedding was so nice and it made me laugh, which is a cool way to break the tension of the present days.

As for the new site, I don't know, honestly, I promised myself that I'm going to follow my favourite stories wherever they're going to be posted, and I will do my best, I swear. However, I made a new account on another site, though I'm not sure I get it. I'm still trying to figure things out there.

Hope to hear from you soon ;) x

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I have an account on FF dot net (username: ChemicalPixie) as well as another site, which is not an officially endorsed site by HPFF so I can't name it on here but is a place where a lot of HPFF folks are going as well.

Chapter 23 is a lot of fun to write so far! Lots of James in this one. ;)

I'll post one final update on this site before posting this story elsewhere. I hope you continue to enjoy this story! Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #2, by BBHP In This Moment

2nd April 2018:
Iím so glad you are going to continue this store elsewhere.

I have so many thoughts on whatís happening in the story and Iím so anxious about what will come next. But I was so excited that Amelia finally found James!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, BBHP! I am excited that Amelia finally found James, too. :) I'll be posting one final update before posting my story on two other sites.

have an account on FF dot net (username: ChemicalPixie) as well as another site, which is not an officially endorsed site by HPFF so I can't name it on here but is a place where a lot of HPFF folks are going as well. I think I saw one of your stories on it as well, and I'm adding it to my reading list! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by HarryGinnyLove88 In This Moment

31st March 2018:
I have a account in fanfiction dot net and so anyone this two would be good to me :)

Oh no if you write after april next time that means i need to wait a month to finally read about after hogwarts James altrough im waiting this soo long..."sad" :(

But im willing to wait if you post either ff ot ff.net so til next time :) :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I have an account on FF dot net (username: ChemicalPixie) as well as another site, which is not an officially endorsed site by HPFF so I can't name it on here but is a place where a lot of HPFF folks are going as well.

I'm starting to repost on the other sites, so stay tuned! I'll be posting a final update on here soon. Stay tuned! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Maleficent The Final Hallow

31st March 2018:
I really hope you'll repost this! A lot of folks are moving to another site

Author's Response: Thanks! I think your review was edited, so your site name no longer is there, but I've made new accounts on a couple sites, including FF. In the process of reposting now!

 Report Review

Review #5, by prongslittleflower The Lupin-Weasley Wedding

28th March 2018:
Please, please continue this even though the site is shutting down. I so want this story to continue, and to finish reading and getting to the bottom of the mystery with Amelia. Keep us updated on where the story is going and if you're posting it somewhere else, and we'll follow you there! Until then, amazing chapter as always. I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review, prongslittleflower!

I am planning on continuing with this story, though I'm not quite sure where I will be posting it yet. I really want to get to the bottom of this mystery with Amelia, too. I'll post where I'll be updating as soon as I know.

Thanks so much for your support! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by aidanlynchrox The Lupin-Weasley Wedding

27th March 2018:
I'm so intrigued and I can't wait to read more! I love the way that you mix flashbacks with the present!!

I really hope you continue writing this story and that you let us know where it's going to be posted when HPFF shuts down!

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

I am planning on continuing with this story, though I'm not quite sure where I'll post it yet. I will let everyone know, though.

Thanks for your review and readership!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jinx333 The Lupin-Weasley Wedding

25th March 2018:
It's been so long...I was going through your story withdrawal! This is seriously one of my favorites and an update always makes me super excited. Keep it up! I feel like the anticipation of seeing James again is built up SO freaking high but I love it. And the sentiment that 'Yes. Love is enough' becoming so clear to her when they meet again, though I'm so hopeful that something like that will happen right away. Anyways, LOVE

Author's Response: Thanks fore reviewing, Jinx333! :)

I'm glad you're enjoying this fic so much. I really like write this story and expanding on my writing skills and imagination.

In the present, Amelia is definitely on the course to collide into James--and soon. Keep reading to see if your predictions and hopes about "Love is enough" come true! ;)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Ellcook The Lupin-Weasley Wedding

23rd March 2018:
Very good story, I have been binge reading and now I am caught up but what more more more. So I'm love with the mystery and an really feeling the chemistry between James and Amelia, would love to read more intimate scenes with the two of them.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, Ellcook! I appreciate your kind words and feedback.

This is the first mystery I've written, and so far I am enjoying it immensely. James and Amelia have been fun to write as well. Their relationship has lots of development left (in both past and present plot lines), so you might get what you're asking for!

Thanks again for reading!


 Report Review

Review #9, by HarryGinnyLove88 The Lupin-Weasley Wedding

21st March 2018:
Finally you write..its been long..
Hiw mimuch time til we heard from James ?? And how long this story will be?

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

I'm about to post the next chapter, which I think you might enjoy. Present James is coming very soon!

As for the length of this story, I think it will be about 35 chapters. This wedding chapter was supposed to be chapter 15, but there was a lot of content to write before this plot point. I say about 35 chapters now, but this could change to be even longer as I continue to write this story. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by MarieBlack The Departure

3rd February 2018:
Typically I try to write such a long response to how utterly brilliant I find this story.

You have crafted this entire world off of what JKR has left us in an epilogue and her revelations past that. Truly, bravo.


I'm always extremely excited to find a new chapter of this fic, and to see where Amelia is headed next. I feel like we are constantly charging toward something big, whether in Amelia's past or present. We get to see her both as a young stumbling but brilliant teenager and an unsure and far more intelligent adult. I love it!

I hope your writing goes well because I can't get enough!! xx happy writing.

Author's Response: Your reviews are always so great, MarieBlack! :D

I'm thrilled about your comment about building this world from an epilogue and post-book revelations. When deciding to write this next gen fic, I wanted to create a setting that readers could find some familiarity with the Potter-era originals while still expanding on some of JKR's ideas. :)

And we're reaching the points in the past where Amelia goes from stumbling, brilliant teenager to unsure, intelligent young adult. As for the present, only time will tell!

Currently writing the next chapter! Thanks again for such lovely reviews.


 Report Review

Review #11, by Ms V The Departure

3rd February 2018:
Such a well written and complex story! I canít wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, Ms. V! :)

I am currently writing the next chapter.


 Report Review

Review #12, by prongslittleflower The Dinner Party

19th January 2018:
I love this story. For real, I can't get over how each thing unfolds and every chapter reveals something new that hooks me in even more. Of course, I had to go back and reread the earlier chapters after you mentioned it in your Author's Note, and let me say that you set it up brilliantly, and I definitely can't wait to see what happens next and then after that as well! Happy birthday to Amelia! And update soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for another amazing review!

I appreciate your kind words on how this story unfolds. It's been a lot of fun having a plot in mind and then manipulating the presentation of the plot in a way where it does unfold as Amelia continues on her journey and as she gets more comfortable with her narration.

There's still a lot more to unfold in this story. I hope you continue to enjoy reading it! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by MarieBlack The Dinner Party

8th January 2018:
MAY HAVE RUSHED BACK TO THE FIRST CHAPTER QUICKLY TO CONFIRM MY SUSPICIONS. The funeral is her FREAKING Father's funeral.

I just. This mystery. Bravo.

A couple of personal faves:

- Finally the "I love you" (SQUEE for my little romantic heart)

- The blow up with Aunt Susan and Uncle Michael, inevitable with all the warring going around in Amelia, her anger is finding an outlet

- The following man, so very intriguing a plot point for the future

- Her birthday dinner, WOW, so much unveiled there, I appreciate the comment about the obscurus and how it would come into play in this "NeoWald" future and then her FATHER, ruthless and the worst. Amelia's mental strength is on display here though, she is fierce and brave.

Once again on the edge of my seat for what is next!!

Happy writing, xx

Author's Response: :) I am glad that your suspicions have been confirmed by the first chapter, though I will admit that not all is what it seems right now!

Thanks for sharing your faves. They're some of mine, too! I like writing the scenes between Amelia and the Corners. They've taken her on as their own, but Amelia rebels against their love. Part of her feels like she doesn't deserve it (this stems back to her younger trauma of her mother leaving her) and part of her is frustrated by how trapped she feels, so what teenager/young adult doesn't take it out on their parental figures?

The following man: this is going to be addressed within the next few chapters, that's for sure!

The "I Love You" moment: my little romantic heart also squealed. I think that this way was most appropriate for this kind of story. ;)

Birthday dinner: Yes, tons has been unveiled. This is a pivotal moment for Amelia. Before now, it's been "Let's find out about the Hallows and The Cause." Now, her research has become a grimmer reality. Keep reading to find out her next steps!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Eyo The Dinner Party

28th December 2017:
Oh my god. Yeah that looks like a good start for my review.

Chapter after chapter your story is becoming always better. And I donít mean that is was bad at start, itís simply that you know how to create a real good story. Most of the time in fanfic writers are beginner and donít have the help of an editor plus they use canon stuff so the development of characters is lacking. Well not much for you!

The way you write your story is actualy extremly good, first the style. I spoke about it in my earlier review but writing without using flashback but mixing past and present seems extremely hard. You still achieve it, and with quality. You are really building something in the two times at a time.

First you gave us the stage, we got deep and realistic characters. Also a plot but from very far even if the action was present I wasnít totally captive of it, though it was enough to keep me interested. Then chapter after chapter in both timelines you get explications mixed intothe two timelines.

And I freaking love your plot, the more we learn the more I respect you in how you write it. Itís extremly contemporain, but also so much in our past. I love the way you donít make any side looks uterly stupid and in that sense you write something mature at the opposite of Rowling where it was more about Harry and him having nemesis and morals highlight through the story (what we call in French ďRoman díapprentissageĒ Learning novel). Because for sure if the Cause didnít have any appealing idea it couldnít grow that much of an importance and peoples would not fall into believing this ideology. Also the fact that in the present timeline you donít make Amelia argue even within herself was a real plus. It would have been weird for you to try to justify yourself through your char so yeah really nicely done. I canít wait though to see if in the past we see more of James and her though, being young itís also often easier to get into an utopia ideology. Even as stupid as it could seems to peoples with the recul (controlling peoples to protect them... though even us in our time we still didnít learn totally).

And having her doubt of Jamesí integrity and therefore us doing the same, bravo!

Speaking about James and Amelia, their relationship is truly a masterpiece in a fanfiction. Now I can understand why Amelia is so obsess with James, at first I wasnít sure to get it. You had them appear like a real relationship blooming, with their fights, their mistakes, their attraction and their common though. But with this chapter you give us a definitive proof of their love and even if you gave a lot of sign before it really makes me able now to share Amelia goal.

I write this review right after my reading and without much organisation so I hope itís not too confuse. I really love your story and I will wait for the next with eagerness.

Happy Christmas and happy New Year incoming, see you in 2018!

Happy holidays

Author's Response: Thank you for this spectacularly detailed review, Eyo!

I immensely enjoy writing past and present side by side. It's a fun challenge, especially when lining up certain past/present events in one chapter, and how they fed on each other. I am happy to hear that you're enjoying this way of storytelling!

The plot of this story is also interesting for me to write. I want to expand on JKR's world but also have it be within canon's reach. The Cause has some characteristics from current events: these supposedly "extreme" ideologies, which appear to become more and more common amongst groups of people, and how these differing views cause issues within societies. This is what I aim to do. So far, Amelia's instinct is to be resistant to The Cause, since she's suffered much heartbreak by it (the abandonment of her mother when she was a little girl and now the cruelty of her biological father). However, she is met with suspicion by the Ministry (see earlier chapters, in the present-day storyline). For Amelia, it's not so much black and white, good and bad--especially now that James has reappeared as a NeoWald. But she feels pressure from all around her, and her decisions are met with criticism.

And thanks for your comments on James and Amelia's relationship. I am trying to write a romance that incorporates aspects of healthy relationships: mutual respect and consent being two of the top traits. This "feminist" spin on a fanfic romance is my way to reconstruct the mainstream narrative of how romances are written in fanfic and in original fiction (books, movies, etc.), which include tropes of damsel-in-distress, boy-shows-his-love-through-patronization-of-girl, girl-being-shamed-for-her-sexual-exploration, etc. Call me modern, progressive, too idealistic, whatever. I'm enjoying writing this kind of romance! :)

Thanks again for your wonderful review. I hope you had a good holiday and that you're well in the New Year!


 Report Review

Review #15, by BBHP The Dinner Party

27th December 2017:
I can't believe I missed TWO updates! I loved this chapter. I'll have to go back and reread the first few chapters to look for clues. Everything is so awesome. The insanity of Amelia's mother AND father showing up at her party, Amelia and James's feelings for each other (*dies*), and Albus showing up at a meeting to try to find James... Everything's so intense and I'm so anxious to learn more. Excellent job on this.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, BBHP! Your reviews leave a smile on my face. :)

You have, as per usual, pinpointed all of my favorite bits of the past two chapters. The scene with Amelia's parents was one of the first I imagined. When creating her character, I wanted to figure out how Amelia could fit into the world of HP, and this scene is a way to connect her backstory with her future drive (which gets further explained in the upcoming chapters).

Enjoy reading--thanks for sticking with this story for so long! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by HarryGinnyLove88 The Dinner Party

27th December 2017:
Aww they are in love...
But what James up to in after Hogwarts part??
Write soon.

Author's Response: Yes, James and Amelia are in love! :)

After-Hogwarts/present time: James definitely has lots of explaining to do. Amelia is (hopefully) almost in a position where she can investigate his betrayal further.

Thanks for your great review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by MarieBlack Hogsmeade

10th December 2017:
Again, just so deep into this mystery. I have a feeling I'm going to greatly enjoy how all of this builds together at the end. It's like knowing the story is a puzzle, receiving those pieces at different times and putting them together as you can. I have a feeling in a chapter or two I'll need to go back and read it all so I can really revel in all that is later revealed.

I love that we're seeing/feeling more of Amelia's intentions about the NeoWalds and people around her. You can see the shift that Neville's talk had with her, even if she's not entirely undoubtful about herself.

I love Lily, she is energetic, bouncy and very endearing. I'm excited to see her grow and how she interacts with other characters as well. Albus, I do have a soft spot for him. He loves his family even with his difference. I like the "Slytherin corner" bit for James birthday, it creates this bond with Amelia.

Her protectiveness too! It is so sisterly, even from seeing Lily's enjoyment and ensuring Albus stays safe, she truly cares for James' family. SO WHAT THE HECK HAPPENED?!

Once again I am on edge but loving it!

I hope updating goes well! Happy writing, xx

Author's Response: Thanks for this awesome review, MarieBlack!

I really like Amelia's interactions with James' siblings. She definitely feels a strong affection for them, which is something that hasn't gone away since she and James parted ways. Lily and Albus will make some more appearances as time goes on, for sure!

Keep reading (and rereading if you're up to spotting clues). We're approaching lots of important plot points, which will hopefully solve this grand puzzle of a mystery! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by prongslittleflower Hogsmeade

20th November 2017:
I so enjoyed this! Sorry it's taken me awhile to read it. Life got hectic. But really, this chapter is more in depth in Amelia's thoughts and with the meeting, and the Hogsmeade trips, I liked hearing her take on things. I'm proud of Albus for trying to find out what's going on with James, but I like how Amelia had to reason with him, telling him to stay out of trouble and that she was going to try to take care of it. It shows a lot about her character, and the strength that she has as well! It's definitely been my favorite chapter so far, and I look forward to reading more. Also, I know she's part of the anti-muggle sentiment, but I'm interested in Sinead's character as well. She's very mysterious. Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review!

I'm really proud of Albus, too. He's gone from black-sheep middle child to stumbling oldest child (at least, still within contact of the Potter family). There will definitely be more of him in future chapters!

And Amelia is great in this chapter, too. Being back in Hogsmeade in the present is difficult for her, since so many pivotal points have happened in this little village for her.

As for Sinead, she'll make some more appearances. She's an old school colleague of Amelia's mother, so we'll see how this all ends up. ;)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by MarieBlack A Place Not Far From Here

2nd November 2017:
Again you enrapture us readers in the "BUT WHAT DID HAPPEN?" You leave us on this beautiful constant cliff hanger of -- how does Amelia become who we see in this NeoWald and the Cause war? How does a curious Slytherin mischiefing and falling in love with James Potter become a confused young adult, struggling to make sense.

I love the depth you give to Amelia, she doesn't have it all figured out. She is not this blind hero who always does right, but makes impulse decisions and even horrible decisions in the name of what feels right to her gut. MAN. She's good. I also love the - grittiness - of Neville in this chapter. It's like seeing the Neville hero in book 7 of HP. You can see that stride of determination and the wiseness of growing up far too quickly in a war. Their scene together is remarkable.

As ever, I'm intrigued of how we are where we are with Amelia, how she and James come to be. Sitting on an edge of "What happened to them?" Interested to see how this continues to unfold! Thank you for sharing your writing and talent, happy writing for the future! xx

Author's Response: Thank you for such a lovely review, MarieBlack!

I am glad that you're catching some of the longer themes and plot points of the story. I really enjoy writing Amelia. She definitely does not have it all figured out, and she is trying her best to survive.

I love Neville. I think that Amelia looks up to him so much, and he has a way of jolting her out of herself. I imagine him to be such a great teacher and mentor to all of his students.

What happened to James and Amelia? Why is Amelia the way she is in the present? Those are the questions! And we'll get there. :) Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Helena A Place Not Far From Here

26th October 2017:
This has got to be one of my favourite James/OC fan fictions Iíve read to date.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review, Helena! I'm curious to know why this is one of your favorite James/OC fics, but I am happy to hear it! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by JT4HP A Place Not Far From Here

19th October 2017:
Just stumbled back onto HPFF and searching through stories and found this one!!! And, I'm so so so glad I did because it's such a great one!

I really like this story and the way it flips back and forth between Hogwarts and present day. Can't wait to find out what ended up happening towards the end of Hogwarts!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review and for reading this lengthy story!

Towards the end of Hogwarts... Amelia would tell you that she doesn't want to talk about it and that you're better off NOT knowing what happened. As the writer, I am saying that we are approaching the events towards the end of her Hogwarts experience--and in the present, we're nearing her goal of finding and confronting James, though she may not like what she finds. ;)


 Report Review

Review #22, by prongslittleflower A Place Not Far From Here

18th October 2017:
Iím really really enjoying this so far but I NEED to know what happened and what funeral theyíre talking about! My curiosity is so peaked! I honestly am so excited to see what happens next, and I look forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

The funeral that keeps being mentioned is Amelia's father's. It was briefly explained in the earliest chapters, and Amelia does NOT want to talk about what happened. So far, the readers know that this is when James disappeared during a skirmish between the Ministry and the NeoWalds. We'll get to this point in the past eventually. A few crucial things need to happen first.

I hope you enjoy the unfolding of the story! I feel we're at the point now where many of the questions from earlier chapters (like what happened at the funeral) are starting to get answered (but not always in full--that's for later!).


 Report Review

Review #23, by HarryGinnyLove88 A Place Not Far From Here

17th October 2017:
You should write more often...how many chapters til end..cant wait to know how its end ☺

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

How many chapters left? Good question. Let's see... I think there might be 30-ish chapters total. We'll see how I can fit Amelia's narration in with the necessary plot points for the completion of the story. ;) Still plenty left to go, though!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Livchin2000 Banshee's Breath

15th September 2017:
This is really good. Please update

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm writing the next update now. :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by HarryGinnyLove88 Banshee's Breath

10th September 2017:
Finally you wrote, yay!!!

When we hear from James. Both Hogwarts and after?

Author's Response: I did! Thanks for your review!

We will hear more from James. However, it will be told from Amelia's point of view, so we'll have to wait for the two of them to collide and for the smoke to settle. ;)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>