Reading Reviews for Jingle All the Way
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore Go It While You're Young

5th May 2017:
Nicole!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

Now I'm the truly terrible one, I can't believe that you posted this in March and I've been so ungrateful as to leave reviewing it till May :( In my defence, I didn't have much time for reviewing in April apart from CTF, and I wanted to be able to leave a proper review on this chapter, because it deserves it (also oh my goodness, I still can't believe that you wrote a story for me *flails*, I feel so honoured!).

I love how utterly magical everything at Givesmore is. It's just there in every aspect of their work, which makes me smile so much, because it's like Givesmore has to keep up the magic of Christmas in all that it does, even if it doesn't necessarily actually make their jobs easier :P Poor Dennis, with the filing cabinets protesting just because he's trying to get them to work more quietly.

The interactions between Marietta and Dennis are really interesting, I'm wondering if Marietta is going to thaw out at all towards Dennis, because she seems to be very cold at the moment. Maybe the party will see some changes in the way they behave towards each other, especially since neither of them seem to be overly keen on the idea of the party.

The letter from Colin!!! ♥ ♥ ♥

*sobs*

Oh my goodness, that was just so sweet and cute and also more than a little bit heartbreaking to read. Seriously, how sweet is Colin? I think there's no doubt that he's a bit of a Gryffinpuff like me, it was just so lovely that he wrote to Santa and asked for something that could be for his mum, and dad, and Dennis, when so many children would just write a long list of what they want for themselves. How many children would do that? Ah, it's just so sweet and lovely of him, and it's no wonder that Dennis found it difficult to read, seeing a reminder of what a wonderful person his brother was, even when he was little, and knowing that he never got to reach his full potential.

It's so sad that Colin never got his requests because the payment was never received, though. I understand that they have to run it as a business, but it would be lovely if there was like a charity fund or something that could pay for the Muggle-born children whose parents didn't know about it - although I guess that he probably got other presents from his family :P But it was a great insight into how the business works, and it's interesting to think of how Givesmore ties into the magical world - maybe some Muggle-born children are found because of the fact they see the adverts?

Grace Givesmore is certainly an... interesting character. She doesn't seem to fit particularly well with the ethos of the company, and although I know that she's trying, in a way, to do something more fun for the employees, but since they're all so stressed already trying to get things ready in time for Christmas, it might not be the best idea. But it was so cute how the other elves were so excited about the prospect of a party. Grace definitely doesn't listen, though, and doesn't seem to care what Millicent thinks, even though Millicent is running the whole company for her. I'm not entirely sure I like Grace, to be honest, but I'm going to wait and see how the party goes before I make a proper judgement :P

Thank you so, so much for this chapter and this story, Nicole! I know I say in all these reviews, but I really mean it, and I'm so flattered and overwhelmed that you wanted to write something for me! I hope you're doing well!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by StarFeather Spirits Bright

8th April 2017:
CTF Round 4 jail break for Deeds!

Hi, Nicole. Every time I come back to your story, Iím happy. I can always learn a lot from your detailed description. You are my Nano mama for me forever!

Givesmore Santa Enterprises, sounds nice! And I read it was written for Sian! Great! Luck Duck Restaurant, does it provide Peking Duck, hmmÖsounds delicious. My guess was right,You wrote ďthe greasy barbecued carcasses of fowls. Iíve written Weasley cooking challenge for Deedsí story before, I wrote the scene Ron cooks for Hermione, Chinese dishes, I felt very closer to your marvelous descriptions. Wow, panorama of London: Big Ben, the London Eye, London Bridge, glistening ThamesÖ I remembered my trip to London with my friend a long time ago.

Oh, the interviewer for Dennis is a house-elf? Itís unexpected. Iíve never read such a story before. Itís quite a surprise that house-elf will be a boss for him, but it may fit better in this situation, Ďcoz Iíve read a Scottish fairytale, in that story, elves in green clothes cheated the two Muggle fiddlers in the forest. I expected that something weird thing might happen. The descriptions of surroundings around the house-elf are funny. Her effort to try to be authoritative is also comical, too.

I like this expression, ďThe large green globes of her eyes glazed over for a second, before snapping back to sharpness.Ē The gap between dreamy house-elfís look and her effort to be like a boss is even funny. The contrast of hers and Dennisís Flurry is funny, too.
Hahaha, Eight years for a packing job, it must be hard job for him. I like how you made up house-elfís contact, sounds magical and I could visualize the scene Dennis got confused by the rearranged sentences. ďThe terms are always changing.Ē Itís funny, too.

The latter half was written differently compared to the first half, cheerful and funny mood, itís very sad imagining Dennisís parentsí minds. Johnís thought about his lost son and his care about his wife and Annaís state of mind after losing Colin, all things reminded me of your other excellent work Ariana Dumbledoreís story. The last scene is so sad along with the merry Christmas song.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful Christmas time story.

 Report Review

Review #3, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Spirits Bright

8th April 2017:
Attack!

And we fulfil each and every one of these requests on the night of Christmas Eve, so children can wake up happy on Christmas Day.Ē

THEYíRE SANTA!

HEY SANTA, I KNOW HIM!

IS DENNIS GOING TO BE SANTA OR AN ELF?

I donít know why Iím so excited by this concept.

ďEight years for a packing job?Ē Dennis demanded.

And then my world came crashing down. How is this okay! This is what Iíve been going through. Out of a job for so long because they want a million years of experience, your left kidney and more. What is this nonsense? I call discrimination!

Though according to an article I read the other day about the military they consider packing an art.

She barely ever looked him in the eye, but now she turned her restless, socketed focus on him, and he turned away.

Yikes. Really no Christmas spirit around the Creevy house is there? I could tell Dennis was struggling from the very beginning. I mean, who wants to take a job with house elves? And who signs a contract without reading it? Thatís going to bite him in the behind later but then again heís Santa (in my head) so heíll find that Christmas cheer. Sort of like the Grinch!

His heart will grow and grow and grow. Hopefully or else Iíll be sad.

I loved Millencent though. Perfection in your writing there really. Reminded me of so many looming figures at job interviews that completely catch you off guard. They think theyíre saving the world over here and doing you such a big favor when itís like you either hire me or you donít thatís what it all boils down to. I could understand his frustration and his lack of care for it all. He just seems lost. He just needs to find his way.

I hope he does! I want to see him interact with little elves. I love house elves they are just fun characters to write.

My favorite part overall was when she turned her chair and she was sitting on the encyclopedia. Do they even make those anymore? Ha!

 Report Review

Review #4, by nott theodore Misfortune Seemed His Lot

22nd January 2017:
Hello! Happy New Year to you as well, and I hope that 2017 brings you all the wonderful things you deserve ♥

Working at Givesmore makes me imagine working retail over Christmas, but on double speed or something. The amount of work that they have to do and things that they need to get ready before Christmas so that they can fulfil their mission is crazy, really - it's no wonder that Millicent Mildred always seems pretty terse and stressed, and the poor house elves are running around trying to make as many toys as they possibly can before Christmas arrives.

Marietta seems mostly annoying and bossy so far, but I wasn't expecting much different - I'd like to see more of them having meaningful interactions, but she always seems like the sort of character who would seal herself off from others, in a way. She's too scared of getting hurt again after what happened at school and what she lived through during the war, so it doesn't surprise me that she doesn't exactly warm to Dennis and keeps the earmuffs on so that she can excuse herself from having to listen to him.

There was one line here that really killed me:
'But he never went back and he did not get better.'

It's just so sad to think that there were so many people in this situation after the war, the people who had lost loved ones and experienced so much fear and pain during that time that they could never really have the life that they expected before it all began. I really want to think that Dennis manages to get better at some point, even if he'll never truly get over losing his brother (especially with the constant reminders he faces at home), and be able to live a life that he finds a little more fulfilling.

The description here was brilliant too - sometimes it's only a couple of words, but you always manage to make the description stand out and create really vivid images in my mind. I loved all the details about the way that the Givesmore factory had to be hidden from all the Muggles around (of course, because it wouldn't do to have children finding out about it, would it?!).

I don't exactly know what to say about the scene with the ballerina - it made me laugh a lot! The picture I have in my head of Dennis Creevey being twirled around rather vigorously by an enormous toy ballerina is really very amusing :P Poor Lizzie, though, getting so stressed about all the toys that she had to make on her schedule and then everyone trying to help and just making it worse. It ended a bit painfully for Dennis!

I really like the way that Millicent Mildred is so competent, though, and came and managed to stop the ballerina immediately and sorted everything out. She's awesome - she is so on top of what she's doing, and I think the success of the company can definitely be put down to her.

The different departments fit in so well with the company, too, and I like the fact that there's finally some sort of regulation in the wizarding world that means injuries at work have to be recorded (given the injuries that were sustained at Hogwarts which nobody seemed to care about :P). Betty definitely fixed him up well, but I pity Dennis for the amount of paperwork he's got to fill in about the incident at work...

One other thing I wanted to mention is that I love the way you've tied the lyrics you're using for chapter titles into the actual events of the chapter - it's really clever and thoughtful, and I just think it adds even more to a lovely story!

Thank you again so, so much! ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore Thought I'd Take a Ride

22nd January 2017:
Nicole! ♥

Ugh, I'm the absolute worst, I'm so sorry for not getting here sooner to leave you a review when you've written a beautiful story for me!

It was so brilliant to get to find out more about the Givesmore company, and Dennis starting his new job. I'm really hoping that things go well for him with this job, in spite of his dad saying that he lets people take advantage of him, and the slightly unstable attitude of his boss...

Millicent is wonderful! I know I said this in my last review, but it really is amazing to see a House Elf as one of the main characters in a story. Unless it's Dobby, we don't normally get to see much of them as actual characters, but I loved her here. She cares so much about her job and the work that she's doing - I don't think it's just that she wants to hold with the traditions of what house elves are meant to do, but rather that she thinks Givesmore's work is really important, and wants to ensure it continues. Her dialogue is so well written - you've made her different to some of the other house elves we see, which is really nice because I think it's easy to fall into a pattern of thinking they all have the same idiolect, but she's also not afraid to question Dennis and tell him what he's doing. So she probably has enjoyed some of the aspects of being freed, I imagine!

I really liked the twist of the new owner of Givesmore wanting to sell the company. It helped add a very real feeling to the story, because even though this is fiction and set in a magical universe, the same sorts of things are happening in this world as happen in our own. It's so sad that someone wouldn't care enough about the work that the company does to try and keep it going, especially when it's a family legacy. I'm so glad that the house elves all refused to go when she freed them and made sure that the company is still running and doing such thoughtful and lovely work!

Lord Nicholas Givesmore ♥ I loved that little nod to Father Christmas, especially with all of the previous owners dressed in a similar way...

Ooh, Marietta! I'm so excited to see that she's working here too - I know her job is temporary, but I wonder how long she's been there? After reading your other story about her, I'm really looking forward to seeing more of her in this one - how did she get here? It'll be interesting to see how she interacts with Dennis, too, and I can't wait to see how your characterisation of her develops through this. Poor her, though, the effects of Hermione's curse still haven't worn off!

Anyway, I'm off to read the next chapter, but I loved this one and thank you so much for this story ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by AlwaysAddicted Misfortune Seemed His Lot

20th January 2017:
Oh Marietta is such a pain so far.
I love the psychotic ballerina moment it was great! Ugh I love how its all houselves, they way they talk to each other is perfect and amusing. Can't wait until you post the next chapter, happy to hear that you think there will be three more! xx

Author's Response: The psychotic ballerina just sort of happened as I was writing this chapter. It was kind of a last minute addition, and I'm pleased the chapter turned out this way, even if it means an extra chapter to the whole fic.

And I will definitely do my best to post the next chapter as soon as I can! I've got work and RL and other writing to attend to, but I know how this fic ends, so hopefully it shouldn't be too hard.

Thank you for your wonderful support on this story; it is muchly appreciated and your reviews absolutely made my whole weekend!! ♥ ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #7, by AlwaysAddicted Thought I'd Take a Ride

20th January 2017:
Oh I just love Millicent! I love the way you write her dialogue. Oh I wonder why Mariette has such a heavy layer of makeup on her face.hehe. I love how you had the Madam Givesmore set the house elves free to sell the company but they all refused to go. Honestly this story is adorable so far and I love it.

Author's Response: Ah, SO delighted to hear that like Millicent Mildred & her dialogue! I get really relieved whenever readers specifically mention my OCs. :D She does have a bit of a meltdown in here.

Hahaha Marietta! :P Well, she's probably still dealing with the effects of Hermione's curse back in OotP...I've actually written Marietta in a previous fic, so I do have my own headcanon about this character. :)

Thank you once again; your review is absolutely wonderful! ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #8, by AlwaysAddicted Spirits Bright

20th January 2017:
I've passed this story a few times and never clicked on and I can already tell that I regret not reading it sooner. I'm very interested in what in the world Dennis just signed up for. I really like your writing style, easy to read as it flows but its very detailed which is something that I love. Being able to see the scene play out in my head like a movie is something I always look for in peoples stories, and you achieved that easily! On to the next! xx

Author's Response: Hello! THank you so much for stopping by and reading & reviewing! I think I must've done a little skip when I saw that I'd got three new reviews! ♥

I guess I really should make the summary a bit catchier to draw in more readers, but I was really in a hurry to post this. :)

And I really had fun writing these few chapters. Dennis is one of my favourite characters to explore, so I'll do my best to put him through a whole lot of trouble!! :P And gah, thanks for your lovely comment about style and detail. I wasn't going to write in an overly complicated style for this fic, but I definitely do love details, so I include as many relevant scraps as possible.

Thanks again!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #9, by nott theodore Spirits Bright

23rd December 2016:
Nicole! ♥ ♥ ♥

This is so amazing and I still can't believe that you have written a story for me, your author's note genuinely made me tear up a little bit because you're just so sweet and wonderful ♥

(Also I'm sorry that I haven't had the chance to review until now, and I'm more than a little rusty at reviewing right now as well!)

Dennis Creevey! ♥ I love the Creevey brothers, and I've always loved reading your portrayals of Dennis as well, so I'm super excited that this story is about him. I can't wait to see how he develops through this story and the journey that he's going to go on - it's sure to be interesting, though, especially with the new job he's got coming up!

This was only a (relatively - for you :P) short chapter but you managed to include so much detail about Dennis and the Creeveys in it that I feel like I already know them - and want to know more about them still.

Dennis is just how I imagined him - he still seems really sweet and loyal, but there's a hardened edge to him in some ways now, as if he won't let himself expect anything positive from the world now that he's seen how horrible it can be. He's still mourning the loss of Colin, even though he's trying to move past it and carry on with his life. I'd love to learn more about where he went and what he did when he went away, too, even though he probably wasn't in a very good place mentally, wherever he ended up.

His parents really aren't helping him to cope with the loss of his brother, either - his mum especially, it seems. I can't really blame either of them because everyone's reactions to loss are so vastly different, and they're both trying to find their own way of dealing with their grief, but it's not a healthy way to live. Anna is so stuck in the past and while it's totally understandable that she'd want to put up all the photos she has of Colin to try and keep the memory of him alive, but in doing so she's refusing to move on and live in the present. It's so sad, especially because none of those pictures move - none of them really represent the world that Colin lived in or died for. Wah, now I'm sad about Colin again :(

BUT BUT BUT this is also so Christmassy and Dennis is going to go and work at Givesmore! I honestly love the idea of this company, it's so adorable and magical that there's a business that makes all the presents that children want for Christmas, and that they then give any that are leftover to the Muggle children who aren't in the fortunate position to receive them! It's such a wonderful idea and makes me feel all warm and fuzzy and Christmassy ♥

The way that you introduced the company was fantastic, too! I loved the interest that you introduced from the very beginning with the letter inviting Dennis to the interview, so we got to discover more with him. The secrecy and illusion around it all was brilliant, too. The way that he had to try really hard to see the building made me think that he'd probably been away from the magical world for a while, but it also helps to tie in with all the mystery and excitement surrounding Christmas and Christmas presents. Then the way that there was so much illusion in the room showed how important it was that the company remained shrouded in secrecy. They can't have everyone knowing that the magic of Father Christmas is really engineered by them, can they?

The House Elves are brilliant, too! I loved the fact that Millicent Mildred McMurdo the Eleventh was the one interviewing Dennis, because it puts her in such a position of power compared to the position that we usually see House Elves in. I'd love to think that she's actually paid to work there too, rather than being made to - even if she didn't have much choice about employing Dennis, when she clearly didn't want to.

I loved this chapter so much, and I really can't wait to read the rest of this story and see what sort of magic goes on in Givesmore, and how Dennis will develop too. And I'm so, so grateful and flattered that you wrote me a story, you're wonderful and lovely and thank you so much ♥ ♥ ♥

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by grednforge217 Spirits Bright

19th December 2016:
Don't tell me that's it! This is amazing. So well written. I'm intrigued about the new job. I'm sure you'll have plenty of wonderful surprises. Can't wait for them!

Author's Response: Hello!

Gah, thank you so much for reading, and taking the time to review. ♥

This definitely isn't the end - there will be 3 or 4 more chapters (hopefully no more than that) and I'll try to get as much written before the year ends, because this is supposed to be a Christmassy gift fic after all! :)

Thank you again, glad you're enjoying.

-teh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login