Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Like Catching Smoke
  
40 Reviews Found

Review #1, by padfootandmoony Sixteen: Fall from Grace

7th December 2017:
I love this story, your writing is fantastic!! Charlie and Darren are so annoying but I'm glad Ada's back! Looking forward to reading more :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! :) I'll try to get another chapter out this weekend.

 Report Review

Review #2, by quill2parchment Sixteen: Fall from Grace

6th December 2017:
ďWhat are you going to do, Fee? Get your Nose Man on my case, get him to hex me like he did James?Ē

Jasper never fails to make laugh! Lol

I'm not sure what to make of the tension between Ragnar and Fi! I can't wait to see where that goes.

And oooh a party! Really can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Honestly I make any excuse to throw a "Nose Man" reference in there.

Thanks again for these lovely reviews! Next chapter coming soon!


 Report Review

Review #3, by quill2parchment Fourteen: Loose Lips

6th December 2017:
Eeek! This whole chapter was amazing!

So how does James' friend know Fiona's name? I think he's been talking about her! And I am not sure what that means, but I'm excited to find out!

The whole bit about the room was heartbreaking. I wonder if James left it that way on purpose.

That kiss was so sweet! He could've tried something else, but he was so sweet despite being drunk. I'm definitely #teamJames a hundred times more now.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so much! :)

I definitely wanted there to be a moment of suspense there, before he kisses her. Lots more James interaction to follow!


 Report Review

Review #4, by quill2parchment Twelve: Moving On

6th December 2017:
I'm pretty sure neither Fiona nor James have moved on. I just want to sit the two of down to talk, but, really, I'm not even sure they're ready for that. They're too confused about what they want and hurt over the past.

The thing is, and really now I might just be over-reading things, I really feel like if either one of them needed the other, then they really would be there for each other.

Great chapter as always, love! Moving on to the next -- I don't know how I got so behind!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by quill2parchment Ten: The Garden Party

6th December 2017:
I just love Jasper. He's probably my favorite character in your story. He just says the perfect thing every time. I love Rose too, but Jasper is just - Jasper.

It was nice of Fi to approach Evangeline like that. But I can't blame James for being suspicious of the whole thing. His girlfriend sounds sweet, and Fi, as we know by now, isn't always, so maybe he's just wary of her intentions?

Anyways, great chapter!

Author's Response: I'm having so much fun with Jasper, and I'm glad you're having fun reading him.

Fiona's intentions were definitely good there, but I agree with you, it was fair enough for James to be skeptical.

Thanks again for these reviews!


 Report Review

Review #6, by quill2parchment Nine: A Cup of Tea

6th December 2017:
Haha I'm so glad James punched Xavier. Mostly because it shows that he still cares about Fiona and I'm shipping those two so deeply right now.

"I hear the twanging of elastic against skin, and realize with a combination of awe and disgust that Jasper must have just snapped the waistband of his own underpants against his hips. Rose sinks slowly out of her chair and onto the kitchen floor, crying with silent laughter"

This is seriously the funniest line I've read in a long time. Like I wish I had written this. It's so comical and simple and effective in breaking the over all tension, and moments like this are what make me adore your story so much.

Author's Response: Ahhh thank you so much. I was having a bad day and your reviews are making me smile.

I'm so glad you liked that line because I considered removing it, thought it might be over-the-line weird! Haha. It can be a thin tightrope with Jasper's dialogue, trying to keep him silly but not have him be so cartoonish that it makes the whole story absurd.


 Report Review

Review #7, by quill2parchment Eight: The Betrayer

6th December 2017:
Awe I feel so bad for Ada! It sounds like such an embarrassing moment! I hope nothing bad happened while she was blacked out.

And Xavier! Ugh, what a pig. And, yeah, Fiona did say she wanted nothing serious but still. Ugh.

James was so sweet, getting Rose for her. I really wonder what their relationship was like before. Sometimes I feel like I can almost tell what they might have been once, and I think that they were probably a pretty great couple, and the idea of them once being great and now being the way they are now sort of breaks my heart...

Anyways -- unto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! :)

I'm having a surprising amount of fun writing Xavier's character. He's basically intended to come off as an entitled, attractive dude. He doesn't necessarily mean any harm to anybody, but he does whatever he wants without considering anyone else's feelings, which means that people around him tend to get hurt.


 Report Review

Review #8, by BBHP Fifteen: Red-Handed

4th December 2017:
Loving it so far! The intensity of the case is nicely balanced with the drama between characters. I miss Jasper though!

So looking forward to reading more. Your story is one that has me checking back too frequently for an update. It's exciting and funny and mysterious all at the same time.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! :) I'm trying to strike a balance between ff and original writing, so I probably won't be able to update again until next weekend (unless I cave). Next chapter will feature some quality time with Jasper, whom I have been missing too!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Eyo Fourteen: Loose Lips

3rd December 2017:
Woh!

I feel so bad for James. Like itís actually pretty lame or maybe he just doesnít give a fuck about his apartment? I can guess Fee being back helped him with his relationship.

But damn I feel like all of your characters are crazy assholes. It makes me feel bad even more for James who seems like the only nice guy of the place. Cheers James!

The new murders is even more what the fuck and I love how you get me totally lost. I have no freaking idea of an answer and thatís pretty fun to read. I will have to reread to see if I missed some clues.

For the leak I wonder if itís that easy? I had the impression that it was actually Ragnar for money reasons because he always seem to struggle and not like his job. But it also makes senses that it would be one of them.

Thanks for the reading, I canít wait for whatís coming next!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! :)

"I feel like all your characters are crazy assholes" - this made me laugh so hard. You're right, it's true, they're a bunch of jerks. With the possible exceptions of Jasper (who's just a mess), Ada, and Albus.

The issue with the leak is going to be resolved pretty quickly, but the resolution is going to lead to a new series of conflicts that will add a some more drama to Fiona's work-life.

All best :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by abbynormalluvsluna Thirteen: The Third Scene

2nd December 2017:
This story is so amazing! Iím really glad I stumbled on it. You do a great job with the characters and the mystery and the emotions. I LOVE IT :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm on a roll right now in terms of writing, so another new chapter should be coming out today or tomorrow. :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by xxx Twelve: Moving On

29th November 2017:
Oh. My. Merlin. I love your stories??? I binge read all of them in a day! I seriously can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! :) Next chapter coming later today!

 Report Review

Review #12, by coolsilver Twelve: Moving On

23rd October 2017:
Just dropping in to say that I love Like Catching Smoke and Fiona! I am insanely curious to see how this plays out!

Partially just to see if Albus can get to Scorpius before he carries out his master plan on Rose...

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! :) Really busy this month, so it might be a few weeks until I get a chance to write the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #13, by coolgf Twelve: Moving On

15th October 2017:
Omg rose hahaha love this story.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Mags Twelve: Moving On

11th October 2017:
Oh, Fiona. I wish I could tell her my thoughtsó that James is only trying to move on, he's not moving on just yet. It's a difference there and I think the two of them are still hung up on each other, they just show it differently. Fiona by trying to gauge some reaction from James by projecting her hurt on him, and James avoiding the feelings Fiona's return have caused him to have. A nice, mature conversation where they just talk to each other would fix things I think, but where's the drama in that?

I like how Fiona is branching out, getting to know her co-workers and hanging out with them after hours. She didn't think of her spying mission at all, or did she..? I kind of agree that maybe she shouldn't insert herself so much in James life, at least not in the way she's been doing it (the dinner at the Burrow was a big no-no from me) but at the same time these are her friends too. If they both want to move on they're going to be in situations like that and considering the reason for their breakup was that Fiona was moving away (there's no scorned, cheated ex) they're going to work pass that IF they want to. I mean, that would mean they're over for real and I get the feeling none of them truly wants that... (*I* don't want that, lol)

(I realize my reviews are very focused on James and Fiona's relationship with him, but that is just because he's my fave among the next gen :) I do enjoy to see that Fiona's got another life, being an Auror and what all that brings to the story. And yay for getting to meet Albus!)

And that was an incredible fast update, I know you might not be as fast the next time but I can't wait to read next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi! Really enjoying your reviews! :)

A nice, mature conversation *would* be great, but I can't promise that it'll happen anytime soon! It makes me laugh because there are so many people in my life who could use one, as well as James and Fiona.

Fiona staying under James' radar is definitely not a long-term solution to the problem. She's stumbling along a bit and trying to figure out who they should be to each other. But they'll both evolve a bit in future chapters.

Thanks so much for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by prongslittleflower Twelve: Moving On

10th October 2017:
I feel bad for Fee in this. She's clearly not over James, and I don't think he's over her either, but she's going to stay away from her friends because of his feelings. Poor thing! I really want them to have a sit down and talk about things, but I can't see that going particularly well with James' temper/unresolved feelings. I really enjoyed the conversation between Fee and Albus about Scorpious and Rose. Looking forward to seeing how that plays out as well. Can't wait to read more soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! :) I'm glad you're sympathetic toward Fee, I've been getting really mixed responses to her character. Yeah, poor James would have a hard time talking about feelings :') but things will get easier for the pair of them in time.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Mags Eleven: The Weapon

6th October 2017:
I love how the auror part of this story progresses and while some things are being cleared up, more things make it confusing as with this poison. And I'm kinda glad Fee decided to spy on her coworkers? It makes for more drama, lol, and also hopefully more time with Harry and maybe for her to talk with Harry about James in some ways? Rose is biased against him so it'd be nice to hear from someone who is biased *for* him, if that makes sense?

I think this is an interesting insight into Fee's mind:
ĒBut itís more that I was trying to be good to her for his sake -- to make up for how Iíve acted, I suppose. And he wasnít having any of it.Ē

It's like she doesn't realize that maybe it doesn't matter how she acts around Evangeline because it was James she was treating badly earlier, it's him she needs to talk to (and apologize too imo), not his girlfriend. And her being nice to Evangeline is not the right way to go, E haven't done Fee anything so she doesn't have a reason to treat her bad... I don't know, it felt like an empty reason "I wanted to show basic human decency to another person to make up for me treating someone else bad". If I were James I wouldn't accept that as a way to make up. But I guess it's things that Fee needs to work on!

I would like to know more about James and their earlier relationship, they were together for a long time so he can't have been all that bad that Rose is trying to paint him as. Maybe it's deliberate of you, to keep him a bit ~mysterious~ to us :) anyway, I look forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hey! :) Thanks so much for this lovely review, I really appreciate the feedback. I think you totally have a handle on Fiona's character: at least when it comes to her romantic life, she's immature and often selfish. You can definitely expect some character development for Fiona as the story goes on! :)

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Eyo Eleven: The Weapon

5th October 2017:
Hello there! First I would like to thank you for this wonderful story. I love it, Fee is one of the most interesting OC i read since well since quite a long time!

There is two things that attract me so much into your story and if obviously the first one is Fee I have to say I'm bias toward detective story so really this story is jackpot.

As I said I really love Fee, she's amazing because for once we have a main character who is mean egoist and ambitious not saying she's a bad person but as now in the story you put a really strong emphasis on that, and you balance it with her friendly attitude and determined mind but also her strong sensibility. We actually have a character who looks real and that's pretty good and quite rare.

I'm also happy with the fact that's it's a girl, it's nice to read about girl who isn't a Mary Sue/Tsundere/"place any other cliche". Girls also has the right to be ambitious in their work and mess up with relationship. It's rafrashing to read your story because of that, I can stop to love Fee even with all her defaults.

A bad point maybe would be the others characters they are pretty empty, the worst is maybe James whose we know nothing about. Apparently he's an asshole even it's a bit hard to see that for me as now. But I'm pretty sure you gonna develop him later in your story.

Also but maybe it's simply a follow up from the last point Fee's friends are weirdly useless. I mean they never confront Fee to the truth of what she's doing. Didn't tell her that she wasn't being fair with Noseman for example. To be honest they appear a bit useless to me.

It was very enlightening how Fee hesitated to take the mission of spying because she though it was wrong but rapidly changed her mind after thinking about the promotion.

I think boys or girls can relate to her easily because she is what most of us are. We hurt important peoples for us by mistake or blindness, we interpret in our own mind events by that I mean we imagine the answer we want even if sometimes it's far from the truth. And of course we are ambitious!

I can't wait to see what's going to happen next, and I hope development for James and maybe some more realistic "best friends" ?

Oh and by the way I cant wait for the plot to enhance a bit. It's a good start the crazy potion is always a promising beginning for me.

Thanks again!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! :)

Really glad you like Fiona, writing OCs can be tricky. As for Rose and Jasper, they're mostly present for comic relief so I wouldn't expect big things in terms of development (i.e., they will definitely continue to be useless), but they might be shown in more interesting contexts in future chapters.

Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by quill2parchment Six: The Second Scene

19th August 2017:
Eh Fiona was definitely frustrating in this chapter. I can totally get why she's upset that James would try to interfere in her new relationship but her reaction to it was really quite immature and uncalled for. They both obviously have a lot of tension going on still, and I can't wait to see where their relationship goes.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! :)

Fiona was definitely being immature in this chapter. In addition to the major plot line (the case), a good deal of the story is going to be about her growing out of this kind of behavior. Hope you're enjoying it so far!


 Report Review

Review #19, by BBHP Ten: The Garden Party

11th August 2017:
The thought of Fiona spying on her team makes me anxious. She's going to get caught, I'm sure, and whether or not someone on her team is shady, it's going to cause a lot of distrust.

Jasper and Rose's "nose man" comments keep me laughing! Jasper is probably my favorite character so far.

I like how Fiona was genuinely friendly to Evangeline. Not pretty or having an ulterior motive.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to the next chapter and hopefully more info on the case.

Author's Response: I'm having so much fun writing Jasper, and probably getting more attached to him than I should!

I hope that was a (slightly) redeeming moment for Fiona. She definitely will continue to be a bit petty when it comes to James, though.

Thanks so much for reviewing! Next chapter coming soon! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by quill2parchment Five: Ogreman

5th August 2017:
Great chapter! I like how you manage to subtly include James. Seeing Xavier and Fiona together obviously bothered him, and I wonder how he feels about her now.

Fiona and Xavier are sort of cute together! She doesn't sound interested in a serious relationship at all, and I know she says it's because of her job, but a part of me wonders if it's because of James as well. I'm curious to see where all of this goes.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :)

Lots more of Xavier to come. Fiona's doubts about being in a serious relationship will definitely be discussed more as the story progresses! You rock, and thank you so much for your thoughtful reviews!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Lulu Nine: A Cup of Tea

29th July 2017:
Hey I just wanted to say that I love your story and that I can wait for the next chapter. The characters are so colourful and well written and I just love them. I hope there will be more moments between James and Fee but I really like the fact that you have patience with them and that you focus on the other parts in the story like Fee's friendships and her auror work. There is one thing that I thought about, earlier on in the story Fee tells Xavier that she doesn't want anything serious and they never really say that they can't see other people or something like that. I get that Fee started to like Xavier and so it must have sucked to see him with another girl but I don't really don't think she has a valid reason to be angry because she hadn't made any indication that she wanted anything from Xavier except for a good time. Maybe there was something I missed that proves otherwise or maybe I'm just weird but this was something I thought about. Anyway all love to you and keep up the great work

Author's Response: Thank you so much for leaving a review! :)

Definitely some more James/Fiona interactions coming up!

Your point about Xavier and Fiona's relationship being non-exclusive is totally apt. She never gave him a reason to think that she wanted anything serious, but she still got upset when she saw him with someone else. You're definitely right to say that it's not exactly logical, and Fiona definitely has some growing up to do!

Thank you so so much for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by quill2parchment Four: The Real World

25th July 2017:
That entire scene with Valerie Knott was amazing. I'm obsessed with crime series so this was right up alley. I love work-mode Fee so much!

"someone who wonít fall in love with you.Ē Bahaha... Rose is the friend we all need.

Loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by quill2parchment Three: The Jellyfish Party

25th July 2017:
Hm this Xavier guy is sort of interesting, him and his tattoo.

I'm really enjoying your dialogue too! It flows so smoothly and makes for an effortless read. Before I know it, I'm always at the end of the chapter with this fic and wanting more.

Gonna keep reading :)

Author's Response: Ahhh thank you so much for this loveliness! :')

I used to have such a hard time writing dialogue, especially humor between characters, so it's very nice to hear that you're enjoying it.


 Report Review

Review #24, by quill2parchment Two: The New Blood

24th July 2017:
The Auror Office seriously just jumps right off the pages -eh, screen- you managed to describe it so perfectly in such few sentences!

I enjoyed Charlie and Darren. I can see why they rubbed Fee the wrong way, but as characters, they're fantastic.

Lol I have no idea how Jasper's logic for jellyfish is everything. I adore him. I swear that's exactly how my mind works sometimes.

Very well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by BBHP Nine: A Cup of Tea

24th July 2017:
YES. Jasper! He's my favourite! Everyone needs a friend like that. Best character!

And I love that James punched that loser.

This has quickly become one of my favourite stories right now and I am dying to read more.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! :) Expect an update sometime next week

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>