Reading Reviews for Like Catching Smoke
  
47 Reviews Found

Review #1, by prongslittleflower Sixteen: Fall from Grace

24th January 2018:
Love this! Can't wait to read more! Interesting developments happening between Ragnar and Fee, but also Fee and James. So much has happened in the last three chapters that I can't wait to find out more and how it's all going to go. Looking forward to the party! Wonder who's going to be there...

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! :) I'll try to update soon

 Report Review

Review #2, by museclio Sixteen: Fall from Grace

3rd January 2018:
Please update, this is so good. I like that even Harry Potter can't sort out the mess that is the auror office :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! :) Next post should be coming soon.

 Report Review

Review #3, by sweaterweather21 Sixteen: Fall from Grace

2nd January 2018:
I just stumbled on this story today, and wanted to compliment you on what a great job you've done so far! I am really enjoying all the plot lines: from the case in the Auror's office, to the James/Xavier/Evangeline tension, to the hijinks that come along with being friends with Rose & Jasper (who are both hoots!). I do, however, have some suspicions that some of these intertwine: particularly with Xavier, who seems like he's up to something and involved somehow. I suppose I will have to wait and see, though! Keep up the great work - I am looking forward to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your supportive review! :) I'll try to post another chapter sometime soon!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Kristina1990 Thirteen: The Third Scene

27th December 2017:
Lol, she has a loose mouth. And is certainly starting to get over her fear. She wouldn't have dared to go this far a few chapters ago. Good for her :).

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all your reviews! I'll try to post another chapter sometime soon.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Kristina1990 Fourteen: Loose Lips

27th December 2017:
Poor James. Somehow Xavier has decided that he likes James' (now) exes.

So, what happens when you throw two exes together that broke up because... well, somewhat childish reasons they both might regret? But wait. Ragnat. Oh, this will be fun.

Author's Response: Yeah, James is having some rough times right now. Lots more friction to come between him and Fiona ;)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Kristina1990 Fifteen: Red-Handed

27th December 2017:
These little... stupid idiots. Some people just always get through with everything. No matter what they do. It just remains to hope that they don't screw up their undercover mission and put people in danger with their immature tongues.

I really don't like them right now.

Author's Response: I had fun writing Darren and Charlie, but they're definitely not good dudes. And definitely inspired by real people from my life, lol. :/

Thank you for your review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Kristina1990 Sixteen: Fall from Grace

27th December 2017:
Excellent chapter!

Interesting take on how the media influences the decisions of the government and enforcement departments. Very relevant to the (sadly) real world.

I found a typo in this sentence. "I seems really young for a Senior Auror"

Author's Response: Thank you so much for these lovely reviews :) Also, thanks for pointing out the typo!

 Report Review

Review #8, by padfootandmoony Sixteen: Fall from Grace

7th December 2017:
I love this story, your writing is fantastic!! Charlie and Darren are so annoying but I'm glad Ada's back! Looking forward to reading more :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! :) I'll try to get another chapter out this weekend.

 Report Review

Review #9, by quill2parchment Sixteen: Fall from Grace

6th December 2017:
ďWhat are you going to do, Fee? Get your Nose Man on my case, get him to hex me like he did James?Ē

Jasper never fails to make laugh! Lol

I'm not sure what to make of the tension between Ragnar and Fi! I can't wait to see where that goes.

And oooh a party! Really can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Honestly I make any excuse to throw a "Nose Man" reference in there.

Thanks again for these lovely reviews! Next chapter coming soon!


 Report Review

Review #10, by quill2parchment Fourteen: Loose Lips

6th December 2017:
Eeek! This whole chapter was amazing!

So how does James' friend know Fiona's name? I think he's been talking about her! And I am not sure what that means, but I'm excited to find out!

The whole bit about the room was heartbreaking. I wonder if James left it that way on purpose.

That kiss was so sweet! He could've tried something else, but he was so sweet despite being drunk. I'm definitely #teamJames a hundred times more now.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you so much! :)

I definitely wanted there to be a moment of suspense there, before he kisses her. Lots more James interaction to follow!


 Report Review

Review #11, by quill2parchment Twelve: Moving On

6th December 2017:
I'm pretty sure neither Fiona nor James have moved on. I just want to sit the two of down to talk, but, really, I'm not even sure they're ready for that. They're too confused about what they want and hurt over the past.

The thing is, and really now I might just be over-reading things, I really feel like if either one of them needed the other, then they really would be there for each other.

Great chapter as always, love! Moving on to the next -- I don't know how I got so behind!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by quill2parchment Ten: The Garden Party

6th December 2017:
I just love Jasper. He's probably my favorite character in your story. He just says the perfect thing every time. I love Rose too, but Jasper is just - Jasper.

It was nice of Fi to approach Evangeline like that. But I can't blame James for being suspicious of the whole thing. His girlfriend sounds sweet, and Fi, as we know by now, isn't always, so maybe he's just wary of her intentions?

Anyways, great chapter!

Author's Response: I'm having so much fun with Jasper, and I'm glad you're having fun reading him.

Fiona's intentions were definitely good there, but I agree with you, it was fair enough for James to be skeptical.

Thanks again for these reviews!


 Report Review

Review #13, by quill2parchment Nine: A Cup of Tea

6th December 2017:
Haha I'm so glad James punched Xavier. Mostly because it shows that he still cares about Fiona and I'm shipping those two so deeply right now.

"I hear the twanging of elastic against skin, and realize with a combination of awe and disgust that Jasper must have just snapped the waistband of his own underpants against his hips. Rose sinks slowly out of her chair and onto the kitchen floor, crying with silent laughter"

This is seriously the funniest line I've read in a long time. Like I wish I had written this. It's so comical and simple and effective in breaking the over all tension, and moments like this are what make me adore your story so much.

Author's Response: Ahhh thank you so much. I was having a bad day and your reviews are making me smile.

I'm so glad you liked that line because I considered removing it, thought it might be over-the-line weird! Haha. It can be a thin tightrope with Jasper's dialogue, trying to keep him silly but not have him be so cartoonish that it makes the whole story absurd.


 Report Review

Review #14, by quill2parchment Eight: The Betrayer

6th December 2017:
Awe I feel so bad for Ada! It sounds like such an embarrassing moment! I hope nothing bad happened while she was blacked out.

And Xavier! Ugh, what a pig. And, yeah, Fiona did say she wanted nothing serious but still. Ugh.

James was so sweet, getting Rose for her. I really wonder what their relationship was like before. Sometimes I feel like I can almost tell what they might have been once, and I think that they were probably a pretty great couple, and the idea of them once being great and now being the way they are now sort of breaks my heart...

Anyways -- unto the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! :)

I'm having a surprising amount of fun writing Xavier's character. He's basically intended to come off as an entitled, attractive dude. He doesn't necessarily mean any harm to anybody, but he does whatever he wants without considering anyone else's feelings, which means that people around him tend to get hurt.


 Report Review

Review #15, by BBHP Fifteen: Red-Handed

4th December 2017:
Loving it so far! The intensity of the case is nicely balanced with the drama between characters. I miss Jasper though!

So looking forward to reading more. Your story is one that has me checking back too frequently for an update. It's exciting and funny and mysterious all at the same time.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! :) I'm trying to strike a balance between ff and original writing, so I probably won't be able to update again until next weekend (unless I cave). Next chapter will feature some quality time with Jasper, whom I have been missing too!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Eyo Fourteen: Loose Lips

3rd December 2017:
Woh!

I feel so bad for James. Like itís actually pretty lame or maybe he just doesnít give a fuck about his apartment? I can guess Fee being back helped him with his relationship.

But damn I feel like all of your characters are crazy assholes. It makes me feel bad even more for James who seems like the only nice guy of the place. Cheers James!

The new murders is even more what the fuck and I love how you get me totally lost. I have no freaking idea of an answer and thatís pretty fun to read. I will have to reread to see if I missed some clues.

For the leak I wonder if itís that easy? I had the impression that it was actually Ragnar for money reasons because he always seem to struggle and not like his job. But it also makes senses that it would be one of them.

Thanks for the reading, I canít wait for whatís coming next!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! :)

"I feel like all your characters are crazy assholes" - this made me laugh so hard. You're right, it's true, they're a bunch of jerks. With the possible exceptions of Jasper (who's just a mess), Ada, and Albus.

The issue with the leak is going to be resolved pretty quickly, but the resolution is going to lead to a new series of conflicts that will add a some more drama to Fiona's work-life.

All best :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by abbynormalluvsluna Thirteen: The Third Scene

2nd December 2017:
This story is so amazing! Iím really glad I stumbled on it. You do a great job with the characters and the mystery and the emotions. I LOVE IT :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm on a roll right now in terms of writing, so another new chapter should be coming out today or tomorrow. :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by xxx Twelve: Moving On

29th November 2017:
Oh. My. Merlin. I love your stories??? I binge read all of them in a day! I seriously can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! :) Next chapter coming later today!

 Report Review

Review #19, by coolsilver Twelve: Moving On

23rd October 2017:
Just dropping in to say that I love Like Catching Smoke and Fiona! I am insanely curious to see how this plays out!

Partially just to see if Albus can get to Scorpius before he carries out his master plan on Rose...

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! :) Really busy this month, so it might be a few weeks until I get a chance to write the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #20, by coolgf Twelve: Moving On

15th October 2017:
Omg rose hahaha love this story.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Mags Twelve: Moving On

11th October 2017:
Oh, Fiona. I wish I could tell her my thoughtsó that James is only trying to move on, he's not moving on just yet. It's a difference there and I think the two of them are still hung up on each other, they just show it differently. Fiona by trying to gauge some reaction from James by projecting her hurt on him, and James avoiding the feelings Fiona's return have caused him to have. A nice, mature conversation where they just talk to each other would fix things I think, but where's the drama in that?

I like how Fiona is branching out, getting to know her co-workers and hanging out with them after hours. She didn't think of her spying mission at all, or did she..? I kind of agree that maybe she shouldn't insert herself so much in James life, at least not in the way she's been doing it (the dinner at the Burrow was a big no-no from me) but at the same time these are her friends too. If they both want to move on they're going to be in situations like that and considering the reason for their breakup was that Fiona was moving away (there's no scorned, cheated ex) they're going to work pass that IF they want to. I mean, that would mean they're over for real and I get the feeling none of them truly wants that... (*I* don't want that, lol)

(I realize my reviews are very focused on James and Fiona's relationship with him, but that is just because he's my fave among the next gen :) I do enjoy to see that Fiona's got another life, being an Auror and what all that brings to the story. And yay for getting to meet Albus!)

And that was an incredible fast update, I know you might not be as fast the next time but I can't wait to read next chapter!

Author's Response: Hi! Really enjoying your reviews! :)

A nice, mature conversation *would* be great, but I can't promise that it'll happen anytime soon! It makes me laugh because there are so many people in my life who could use one, as well as James and Fiona.

Fiona staying under James' radar is definitely not a long-term solution to the problem. She's stumbling along a bit and trying to figure out who they should be to each other. But they'll both evolve a bit in future chapters.

Thanks so much for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by prongslittleflower Twelve: Moving On

10th October 2017:
I feel bad for Fee in this. She's clearly not over James, and I don't think he's over her either, but she's going to stay away from her friends because of his feelings. Poor thing! I really want them to have a sit down and talk about things, but I can't see that going particularly well with James' temper/unresolved feelings. I really enjoyed the conversation between Fee and Albus about Scorpious and Rose. Looking forward to seeing how that plays out as well. Can't wait to read more soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! :) I'm glad you're sympathetic toward Fee, I've been getting really mixed responses to her character. Yeah, poor James would have a hard time talking about feelings :') but things will get easier for the pair of them in time.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Mags Eleven: The Weapon

6th October 2017:
I love how the auror part of this story progresses and while some things are being cleared up, more things make it confusing as with this poison. And I'm kinda glad Fee decided to spy on her coworkers? It makes for more drama, lol, and also hopefully more time with Harry and maybe for her to talk with Harry about James in some ways? Rose is biased against him so it'd be nice to hear from someone who is biased *for* him, if that makes sense?

I think this is an interesting insight into Fee's mind:
ĒBut itís more that I was trying to be good to her for his sake -- to make up for how Iíve acted, I suppose. And he wasnít having any of it.Ē

It's like she doesn't realize that maybe it doesn't matter how she acts around Evangeline because it was James she was treating badly earlier, it's him she needs to talk to (and apologize too imo), not his girlfriend. And her being nice to Evangeline is not the right way to go, E haven't done Fee anything so she doesn't have a reason to treat her bad... I don't know, it felt like an empty reason "I wanted to show basic human decency to another person to make up for me treating someone else bad". If I were James I wouldn't accept that as a way to make up. But I guess it's things that Fee needs to work on!

I would like to know more about James and their earlier relationship, they were together for a long time so he can't have been all that bad that Rose is trying to paint him as. Maybe it's deliberate of you, to keep him a bit ~mysterious~ to us :) anyway, I look forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hey! :) Thanks so much for this lovely review, I really appreciate the feedback. I think you totally have a handle on Fiona's character: at least when it comes to her romantic life, she's immature and often selfish. You can definitely expect some character development for Fiona as the story goes on! :)

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Eyo Eleven: The Weapon

5th October 2017:
Hello there! First I would like to thank you for this wonderful story. I love it, Fee is one of the most interesting OC i read since well since quite a long time!

There is two things that attract me so much into your story and if obviously the first one is Fee I have to say I'm bias toward detective story so really this story is jackpot.

As I said I really love Fee, she's amazing because for once we have a main character who is mean egoist and ambitious not saying she's a bad person but as now in the story you put a really strong emphasis on that, and you balance it with her friendly attitude and determined mind but also her strong sensibility. We actually have a character who looks real and that's pretty good and quite rare.

I'm also happy with the fact that's it's a girl, it's nice to read about girl who isn't a Mary Sue/Tsundere/"place any other cliche". Girls also has the right to be ambitious in their work and mess up with relationship. It's rafrashing to read your story because of that, I can stop to love Fee even with all her defaults.

A bad point maybe would be the others characters they are pretty empty, the worst is maybe James whose we know nothing about. Apparently he's an asshole even it's a bit hard to see that for me as now. But I'm pretty sure you gonna develop him later in your story.

Also but maybe it's simply a follow up from the last point Fee's friends are weirdly useless. I mean they never confront Fee to the truth of what she's doing. Didn't tell her that she wasn't being fair with Noseman for example. To be honest they appear a bit useless to me.

It was very enlightening how Fee hesitated to take the mission of spying because she though it was wrong but rapidly changed her mind after thinking about the promotion.

I think boys or girls can relate to her easily because she is what most of us are. We hurt important peoples for us by mistake or blindness, we interpret in our own mind events by that I mean we imagine the answer we want even if sometimes it's far from the truth. And of course we are ambitious!

I can't wait to see what's going to happen next, and I hope development for James and maybe some more realistic "best friends" ?

Oh and by the way I cant wait for the plot to enhance a bit. It's a good start the crazy potion is always a promising beginning for me.

Thanks again!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! :)

Really glad you like Fiona, writing OCs can be tricky. As for Rose and Jasper, they're mostly present for comic relief so I wouldn't expect big things in terms of development (i.e., they will definitely continue to be useless), but they might be shown in more interesting contexts in future chapters.

Thanks again for your review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by quill2parchment Six: The Second Scene

19th August 2017:
Eh Fiona was definitely frustrating in this chapter. I can totally get why she's upset that James would try to interfere in her new relationship but her reaction to it was really quite immature and uncalled for. They both obviously have a lot of tension going on still, and I can't wait to see where their relationship goes.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! :)

Fiona was definitely being immature in this chapter. In addition to the major plot line (the case), a good deal of the story is going to be about her growing out of this kind of behavior. Hope you're enjoying it so far!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>